Grandfather's Journey: A Caldecott Award Winner (Paperback)

Grandfather's Journey: A Caldecott Award Winner By Allen Say, Allen Say (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Allen Say, Allen Say (Illustrator)
$7.99
Not on our shelves. Usually arrives at The Bookworm in 4-7 days from distributor/publisher.

Description


In this Caldecott Medalwinning picture book, master storyteller Allen Say chronicles his family’s history between Japan and California. A lyrical, breathtaking tale of one man’s love for two countries, Grandfather’s Journey is perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Thank You, Omu!

Through pensive portraits and delicately faded art, Allen Say pays tribute to his grandfather’s persistent longing for home that continues within Allen.

This restlessness and constant desire to be in two places speaks to a universal experience as well as the deeply personal ties of family to place, and what it means to be at home in more than one country.

Both a celebration of heritage and a poignant exploration of the struggles we inherit, Grandfather’s Journey is a modern classic perfect for every household.

About the Author


Allen Say was born in Yokohama, Japan, and came to the United States when he was sixteen. His many treasured books for children include Tree of CranesAllison, and the Caldecott Medal–winning Grandfather's Journey. He lives in Portland, Oregon.



Allen Say was born in Yokohama, Japan, and came to the United States when he was sixteen. His many treasured books for children include Tree of CranesAllison, and the Caldecott Medal–winning Grandfather's Journey. He lives in Portland, Oregon.

Praise For…


"The immigrant experience has rarely been so poignantly evoked as it is in this direct, lyrical narrative that is able to stir emotions through the sheer simplicity of its telling." Horn Book, Starred

Library Media Connection —



Product Details
ISBN: 9780547076805
ISBN-10: 0547076800
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: October 27th, 2008
Pages: 32
Language: English
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.