Farther Than the Moon (Hardcover)

Farther Than the Moon By Lindsay Lackey Cover Image
$17.99
On our shelves as of last inventory date.
On hand as of May 19 4:50pm

Description


From award-winning author Lindsay Lackey comes Farther Than the Moon, a heartfelt story about a boy who wants to become an astronaut, but wonders if his dreams can include his brother with disabilities, perfect for fans of We Dream of Space and Song for a Whale.

All thirteen-year-old Houston Stewart has ever wanted is to become an astronaut. His dreams feel like they're finally coming true when he's accepted to the highly-competitive Junior Astronaut Recruitment Program – if only he could bring his little brother, Robbie, with him.

Ever since their dad left, Houston and Robbie have been inseparable. It's hard to tell where Houston's love of space ends and where Robbie's begins. But Robbie's cerebral palsy and epilepsy mean he needs medical attention at home, so Houston is forced to take this giant leap for the two of them all on his own.

At camp, Houston is quickly drawn into the orbit of new friends, cosmic adventures, and a long-lost grandfather. But as Houston struggles to meet the program's rigorous demands, he’s forced to reckon with the truth that Robbie may never visit space like the brothers have always hoped. But Houston is determined to honor Robbie’s dream, even if it seems like an impossible mission. So, like a good astronaut, he dares to make a new plan — one that shoots for the stars.

Called "a remarkable and heartfelt story that is as fun and gripping as it is profoundly moving" by #1 New York Times-bestselling author Dan Gemeinhart, this is a captivating read for aspiring astronauts and scientists, and a perfect holiday gift.

About the Author


Lindsay Lackey's debut novel, All the Impossible Things, was named a Best Book of 2019 by the New York Public Library, the Denver Library, and Children’s Book Review. While conducting research for her second novel, Farther Than the Moon, Lindsay fell in love with space and NASA history. Born and raised in Colorado, she now lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband and their spoiled dog.

Praise For…


Praise for Farther Than The Moon
*A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection*
*Longlisted for the OWL Awards*


"Starring an innovative and compassionate character, Farther Than the Moon is a memorable story about rebuilding when plans blow up, reaching across rifts to mend friendships, and working to keep an impossible promise. I love this story to the moon and back!" — Lynne Kelly, author of Song For a Whale

"Lackey expertly weaves together the wonders of the cosmos with the equally wondrous human capacity to connect, love, and forgive. Farther Than the Moon is not only an engaging introduction to the history of aeronautical achievement but a powerful meditation on family, the importance of inclusiveness, and how we’re all in this universe together." — Katherine Marsh, critically acclaimed author of Nowhere Boy and The Lost Year

“Lindsay Lackey has done it again. This heartfelt story of brotherhood, told with Lindsay's particular brand of tenderness, healed and softened bruises inside me I didn't know were hurting. The careful attention to and expert deployment of in depth research delighted me and tickled my fancy the whole way through. Farther Than The Moon is a treat for the mind and a balm for the soul.” — Sarah Allen, author of What Stars Are Made Of

"This is an enchanting story about brotherly love and big dreams. You'll adore Houston and Robbie to the moon and back." — Natalie Lloyd, New York Times-bestselling author of A Snicker of Magic

“The power of Farther than the Moon comes at you twice, since this is a story of two loves: the love of space travel, the sheer thrill and excitement of being an astronaut, and the love of a kid who is absolutely devoted to his brother with disabilities. Both love stories will grip any reader who cheers for the seemingly impossible.” —Gary D. Schmidt, Newbery Honor winner and National Book Award finalist

"Farther Than the Moon is a remarkable and heartfelt story that is as fun and gripping as it is profoundly moving. I loved it." — Dan Gemeinhart, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Midnight Children

“Father Than The Moon is a heartwarming tale of love and awe for space travel, overcoming self doubt, and the importance of inclusivity. A page-turner and an absolute joy to read." — Hayley Arceneaux, Inspiration4 astronaut, author, speaker

"Lindsay has tenderly approached the issues of being human with all the troubles of family relations, both emotional and health oriented; problems with those with whom we interact; the criticality of team work; and making hard choices in life. I highly recommend Farther Than the Moon to any young person who might presently be dealing with any of these issues in their real life." — Robert L Stewart, BG US Army (ret), Astronaut, STS41B/51J

"Full of passion and determination." — Kirkus Reviews

"Nuanced [and] introspective." — Publishers Weekly



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250205209
ISBN-10: 1250205204
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: September 19th, 2023
Pages: 336
Language: English
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.