Who Did It First? 50 Politicians, Activists, and Entrepreneurs Who Revolutionized the World (Hardcover)

Who Did It First? 50 Politicians, Activists, and Entrepreneurs Who Revolutionized the World Cover Image
By Jay Leslie, Nneka Myers (Illustrator), Alex Hart (Editor)
$18.99
On our shelves as of last inventory update.
On hand as of May 15 7:30am

Description


A "2020 NCSS Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People" Selection

A vibrantly illustrated and compelling collection of profiles about women and men who revolutionized politics, policy, commerce and activism.


You likely know that Barack Obama was the first African American president of the United States. And you maybe you know that Sandra Day O’Connor was the first woman to serve as a Supreme Court Justice. But you might not know that Nelson Mandela was the first black president of South Africa. Or that Schuyler Bailar is the first openly transgender NCAA Division 1 swimmer.

Who Did It First? 50 Politicians, Activists, and Entrepreneurs Who Revolutionized the World brings together all of these trailblazers into one stunning package. With both well-known figures and lesser-known heroes, this book is a celebration of the inspiring innovators who braved uncharted waters to pave the path for future generations.

Perfect for fans of Little Leaders, Women in Science, and Rad Women Worldwide, Who Did It First? makes a wonderful gift for any occasion and is a must-have for every young reader’s library.

Featuring Oprah Winfrey, Steve Jobs, Indira Gandhi, Melinda Gates, Janet Mock, LeBron James, Madam C.J. Walker, Thomas Gallaudet, and many others.

About the Author


Jay Leslie graduated from Duke University with degrees in English, international comparative studies, and religion. After writing for Issa Rae Productions and being shortlisted for Chimamanda Adichie’s Farafina Trust, she co-authored a project on James Baldwin with Duke professor Dr. Adam Hollowell. She lives in Berlin, Germany.

Nneka Myers has been known to paint worlds filled with colour, texture, life and diversity. Based in Toronto, Ontario, Canada as a character designer and illustrator, her artwork can be found in TV animation (Esme & Roy), children's books (Jada Jones), comics (Plants Vs. Zombies) and social media illustrations. When she is not a busy bee, she can often be found looking for inspiration in vintage fashion, drinking tea with friends or playing video games.

Alex Hart is the pseudonym for a children’s book editor and author who is the first person in his family to write and publish a book (Who Did It First? 50 Scientists, Artists, and Mathematicians Who Revolutionized the World). He lives with his husband in Brooklyn, New York and Hillsdale, New York.

Praise For…


"Accessible and reader friendly, making for a quick-paced yet informative book." —School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9781250211729
ISBN-10: 1250211727
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: February 11th, 2020
Pages: 128
Language: English
Series: Who Did It First?
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.