Bad River (An Arliss Cutter Novel #6) (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Bad River (An Arliss Cutter Novel #6) By Marc Cameron Cover Image
$28.00
New release available for pre-order. Publication date may change.

Description


From a remote village perched on Arctic permafrost to the Badlands of South Dakota, searching for answers about his brother sets Arliss Cutter on an icy trail of murder and madness into the darkest heart of the Alaskan wilderness. New York Times bestselling author and former U.S. Marshal Marc Cameron captures the beauty and brutality of both man and nature in his newest high stakes suspense for fans of Paul Doiron, CJ Box, Allen Eskens, and Jane Harper.

"Cameron’s novels hook you from the first line, cement your eyes to the page, and grip your heart in a vice. I can’t think of another writer whose work I admire more." —WILLIAM KENT KRUEGER

"A double-barreled blast of action, narrative, and impossible-to-fake authenticity.” —CJ BOX


In the Inupiaq village of Wainwright on the Arctic Ocean, two teenagers discover a frozen body in the permafrost wall of their family’s cellar. They recognize the face through the ice. It is the face of a young woman who went missing—two years ago . . .

In South Dakota, Arliss Cutter searches for answers surrounding his brother’s mysterious death. But his visit only raises more questions without any leads. Until he returns to Alaska—and learns that his brother had something in common with the frozen body in the ice cellar . . .

Inside the young woman’s pocket is a fossilized animal tooth—similar to the one Arliss’s brother picked up on a trip to South Dakota. A bizarre coincidence? Or are the two connected somehow? Before Arliss can figure it out, his brother’s widow and children become the targets of a brutal home invasion. Arliss arrives on the scene in time to save them—but his actions trigger a larger investigation that puts his own neck on the line. From South Dakota to Anchorage to the Inupiaq villages of the Arctic, Arliss follows this bloodstained trail of clues to a remote lodge on the banks of the Kobuk River. Here, in this unforgiving wilderness, he will find the answers he seeks. Here, in this untamed, often violent land, he will come face to face with the terrible truth—and the man behind his brother’s murder . . .

About the Author


Marc Cameron is a former U.S. Marshal and the New York Times and USA Today bestselling, award-winning author of the Arliss Cutter novels, the Jericho Quinn series, and the Tom Clancy Jack Ryan Sr. books, starting with Power and Empire. A Texas native who now lives in Alaska, his law enforcement career spanned over three decades, beginning as a uniformed police officer, mounted (horse patrol) officer, and detective before accepting a position with the United States Marshals Service. In that role he served as a Deputy, Fugitive Task Force Commander, Supervisory Deputy, Senior Inspector, and Chief. His assignments have taken him from rural Alaska to Manhattan, from Canada to Mexico and points in between. A second-degree black belt in jujitsu, he often teaches defensive tactics to other law enforcement agencies and civilian groups. Cameron presently lives in Alaska with his wife and his BMW motorcycle. Visit him online at MarcCameronBooks.com.

Praise For…


Praise for Marc Cameron’s Arliss Cutter Novels
 
"Great storytellers aren’t made. They’re born. It’s in their DNA. And Marc Cameron is one of the great ones. Cameron’s novels hook you from the first line, cement your eyes to the page, and grip your heart in a vice. His characters are raw and real, their complexity shaped by Cameron’s deep understanding of human frailty. His plot lines are so cleverly twisted you never see the switchbacks coming. Honest to God, I can’t think of another writer whose work I admire more." —William Kent Krueger, New York Times bestselling author of This Tender Land

“Looking for authentic action, suspense, drama, and mystery? Look no further than U.S. Marshals Service veteran Marc Cameron whose thrillers capture the visceral nature of life in the trenches as only one who has lived it truly can. Strap in and enjoy the ride!” —Jack Carr, #1 New York Times bestselling author and former Navy SEAL Sniper

"A double-barreled blast of action, narrative, and impossible-to-fake authenticity with a great sense of place and a terrific protagonist.” —C.J. Box, #1 New York Times bestselling author
 
“Cameron’s books are riveting page-turners.” —Mark Greaney, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“Filled with local color to spark the imaginations of armchair travelers. Key to the action is the Alaska Railroad, which tourists normally ride to soak in hundreds of miles of magnificent scenery…Cameron himself was a U.S. marshal specializing in dignitary protection in the 1990s, eventually retiring as district chief in Alaska, giving him serious chops to write this appealing series. Great action in a colorful setting.”Kirkus Reviews, STARRED Review for Breakneck
 
“Every single book in the riveting, best-selling Arliss Cutter series is simply impossible to put down—or out of mind! And Breakneck is no different. It’s one hell of a book. Sharply drawn characters, intense action scenes, and a captivating narrative result in a white-knuckle thrill ride. Marc Cameron has earned his spot in the front ranks of thriller writers.” – Simon Gervais, former RCMP counterterrorism officer and bestselling author of The Last Protector

“Cameron, who has nearly three decades in law enforcement and a stint as a U.S. Marshal, keeps all these plot points delicately balanced and the same time creates sympathetic heroes, depraved villains, and nail-biting action. Readers will eagerly await his next.” —Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW on Open Carry
 
Riveting…Cameron puts the reader in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness. They feel the wind at their face, and the bitter cold from the downpour of snow. Animals also become a factor with wolves and an 800-pound grizzly bear trying to get their next meal. There is no means of communication, few supplies, and prisoners who want nothing more than to kill Cutter.  He must use all his skills to protect himself and others found in the wilderness. The plot and characters are enthralling.” —Military Press on Cold Snap

“Spectacular on all fronts… The way the author describes the austere and beautiful Alaskan landscape makes you feel like you're really there…the greatest feather in the cap of this novel is the emotional depth, which brings a rare degree of realness to the novel…Marshall Cutter is everything you'd want in a U.S. Army Ranger-turned-law-enforcement-officer. He's stoic like the star of a Western film, he's crafty like a modern-day Sherlock Holmes, and he always takes the most practical route in stopping criminals…I can honestly say that this novel was one of the best I've read in a good long while.” —We Are The Mighty on Open Carry
 
“Set in the vast Alaskan landscape where a small village attempts to keep its dark secrets hidden, Marc Cameron’s Open Carry reads like a cross between Lee Child’s The Killing Floor and C.J. Box’s Blood Trail…and is perfect for fans of both those series.” —The Real Book Spy
 
“Cameron effectively combines investigation and straight-ahead action, and he has fashioned a compelling, never-give-an-inch hero who will appeal to Jack Reacher fans.” —Booklist on Open Carry
 
“Intricate, multilayered…Cameron populates his suspenseful tale, which builds to a satisfying, if violent, conclusion, with fully realized characters, each with their own believable backstory. His understanding of the ins and outs of small Alaskan communities makes for a rich sense of time and place.” —Publishers Weekly on Stone Cross

“If you want to read an exciting mystery, with elements of a thriller, and a hero reminiscent of classic Westerns, Stone Cross is a sure thing. I could smell the paint-thinner.” —Criminal Element
 
“A nail-biting quality on top of great characterization, a gripping plot, and clean, vivid writing.” —New York Journal of Books on Stone Cross

“Cameron viscerally conveys Alaska’s austere beauty as well as its unexpected dangers.” —Publishers Weekly on Cold Snap


Product Details
ISBN: 9781496737632
ISBN-10: 1496737636
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: July 23rd, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: An Arliss Cutter Novel
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.